Manufacturing News
July 26, 2026
July 26, 2026 · Clark County · Story 1 of 3
CS PowerTech Phase I Goes Live with 2.1 Gigawatts at River Ridge
CS PowerTech, the U.S. subsidiary of Canadian Solar, brought 2.1 gigawatts of nameplate photovoltaic cell capacity online in Jeffersonville on July 24, with Phase II targeted for early 2027 at 6.3 gigawatts total. SEIA put total U.S. solar cell production capacity at 3.2 gigawatts at the end of the first half of this year, so one Clark County plant at full buildout roughly triples the domestic base.
The technology choice tells you why this plant is durable. Canadian Solar built heterojunction (HJT) rather than TOPCon, which sidesteps the Section 337 ITC patent case First Solar filed against Canadian Solar and nine other respondents, a case where the USPTO denied Canadian Solar's invalidation bid in January 2026. No other named respondent has replicated HJT at commercial scale in the U.S. HJT cells also consume significantly more silver than TOPCon, and CS PowerTech has not publicly disclosed silver paste or ITO sourcing for Jeffersonville. The primary supplier may already be locked, but qualification and secondary-source openings on a ramp that size are real. If you run specialty materials, precision fabrication, or electrical systems capability, that is a call to River Ridge this week.
For your morning huddle
- Q
What does the CS PowerTech plant in Jeffersonville mean for Indiana suppliers?
CS PowerTech has not publicly disclosed its silver paste or ITO sourcing for Jeffersonville, and heterojunction cells consume significantly more silver than the TOPCon cells most competitors run. If you supply specialty materials, precision fabrication, or electrical systems, contact River Ridge Commerce Center now, qualification and secondary-source openings on a 6.3 gigawatt ramp are real.
From the brief, July 26, 2026
- CS PowerTech Phase I Goes Live with 2.1 Gigawatts at River Ridge
- Redwire Opens Microgravity Pharma Facility Two Hours From Eli Lilly
- Tariff Study Puts 9,100 Indiana Jobs Lost, and Section 232 Is Still Fully in Effect
This story
TEG Daily, before your morning huddle
A short Indiana energy and manufacturing scan, delivered before the workday starts.
Manufacturers Energy Grant Program
Free for Clark County manufacturers
Clark County manufacturers receive a free monthly 35-point audit of their electric bills for cost recovery and savings. Every line item checked and validated, every opportunity found comes with a step-by-step guide to capture it.
EDCs: sponsor this program and it carries your organization's name For economic developers →

